Goals PhotoI have been remiss in my goal updates for the past few months, and I am officially blaming the heat and the pregnancy! But I figured it’s about time to get back to it and at least update on my {little} progress this past month {or three}. So here goes…

My word for the year: YES

I chose this as my word because I really want to be more open to: change, trying new things, and to what God has in store for my life as I transition from student/employee in to staying home with the Benjamin full-time. So, when I want to say NO, but I don’t really know why (Comfort? Laziness? Close-minded-ness??) then I’m going to try and say YES instead…and see what happens. I’m kinda scared…but kinda excited too…to dare that I could be something or someone else, and NOT always be who I am right now…

{July Update: No real update here…I have let myself get wrapped up in little things and self-imposed drama and stress these past few months and have been neglecting saying “yes” to anything. I can make excuses, but it’s just me being “me”-centered, instead of allowing God to do a work in me and change that tendency of self….Wow, hopefully I will have a better update for August!}.

The rest of my goals…

Spiritual

1. Make Reading the Bible a priority EVERYDAY { My plan for succeeding has helped me a lot…but I got put of the habit in July, so I’m not doing too great right now…}

2. Prayerfully find a cause that breaks my heart {Ongoing…}

Family/Marriage

1. Take a Sabbath once a week {After writing out my plan to observe a Sabbath, I did very well at this one…at first. The first two Sundays in May were very successful while the last two Sunday’s were rather almost observed (we went to the store both weeks). Then…I completely fell off the wagon (so to speak) and stopped observing a Sabbath all together for the past two months. <sigh>. It’s hard to do it, but so worth it for the rest…and one I have been missing these past few weeks months.}

2. Plan Monthly Date Nights Out with Nathan {We went out once in July}

3. Be more intentional about mothering {After the morning sickness/nausea/near-death finally passed (yay!), I have been much more excited to play and read with Benjamin and keep up with him a little better. He has been enjoying our story times together, which is nice for both of us}.

Personal

1. Complete 1 Project per month (from my list, found here) {Worked on more homemade cleaners, including hand soap and glass cleaner; the dining room is mid “re-decoration” (hope to share some pictures soon!); and…that’s about as far as I’ve gotten :)}

2. Start & Maintain a Blog {still doing it!}

3. Generate Additional Monthly Income {I have been working at church the past few months, and definitely in July, helping with VBS and a few other special projects, so it was a good month for my additional income contribution!}

Financial

1. Pay off our current car payment {DONE!!!!}

2. Purchase a 2nd Car with cash {DONE!!!! FINALLY!!! I am so excited about this one!!!!}

3. Pay off Nathan’s student Loan {ongoing}

Educational

1. Learn How to Can {ongoing…I did can some Applesauce a few months ago…but I was still pretty confused about what I was doing…}.

2. Read 24 Books (see list here) that will improve my life {Completed 3 books from my list!}

How have you been doing on your goals for this year??

image source

