msm cleaning

Day 19 Challenge: Clean your entryway, sweep your garage and/or vacuum out your car

I would vacuum out the car, but we only have one and it is gone with my husband at work :).

IMG_0920

this is where the car would be 😉

So instead I decided to clean out the stroller

IMG_0945

You would not believe how many cheerios fell out of this thing! I could hardly believe it myself!

It looks so much better without cheerios, leaves, and crumbs in all the crevices. It also got a good wipe down with a damp rag. Ahh, much better :).

One of my goals for this year is to clean out and organize the garage. Nathan and I have been working on this goal as we have time. Sometimes we take 15 minutes and just make decisions, while other times we spend a few hours going through boxes and bins. It has been a work in progress for what feels like forever! And we did make significant progress on the garage this past weekend (when we thought we were getting a second fridge), so it has recently had some cleaning.

So here are the BEFORE pictures (blech.):

IMG_0922

The shelf wall BEFORE. Ideally, I would love to only need half of the shelves and just get rid of all the junk!

IMG_0924

The “Get Rid Of It!” Pile. I am SOO not a fan of having this pile in the garage!!

Now, I know that the task for today was to sweep out the garage, but I decided to spend a little bit of time sorting out the “Get Rid of It!” Pile.

This pile is a junk heap of: donate, sell, give back to rightful owner, give to someone who said they wanted it, and evaluate for trash.

I got going with this project, and it really didn’t take me long to process each item.

IMG_0936

Here it is “in-process”

IMG_0944

A full view of the garage when the door is open

IMG_0946

Donate Pile

IMG_0947

Sell Pile

IMG_0948

things for Nathan to decide on

IMG_0938

Junk pile wall AFTER – only the “To Sell” pile remains!

IMG_0950

The Shelf Wall AFTER: It doesn’t look a whole lot different, but I did do some organizing. Over half the stuff is baby/kid stuff, so I’m not really able to do much with that for now.

IMG_0934

Here’s what I swept up off the garage floor.

I will be donating my pile tomorrow, and Nathan said he would evaluate his items tonight. And I have decided to try my hand at selling some items on Craigslist. But since I have wanted to do that for over a year, I am imposing a goal of selling the stuff by May 31st. Otherwise, it’s being donated! And the recycling will be going back…soon.

There’s still more to do in the garage…but I am happy with what I accomplished today :). I still hope to have a really good photo to show off in a few months when the garage is COMPLETELY done!

And for those interested, here’s what Benjamin was up to today…

IMG_0906

Here’s my little escape artist at work…

IMG_0913

…and proud of it!

What did you tackle today? Anyone sort out a pile in the garage, or clean cheerios out of their stroller??

