msm cleaning

So I am now on Day 8 of the 30-Day House Cleaning Challenge. If you aren’t following along , it’s not too late to jump in! {Check it out over at Money Saving Mom}.Β 

So on to today’s challenge: sweep and vacuum all the floors in your house

Not too difficult of a task to start off the week! Especially since this is already on my weekly list for Monday πŸ™‚

IMG_0537

I still have a few things left to do!

And since my house is pretty small (approx 750 sq ft), I can get it vacuumed and swept in no time! I didn’t take any photos because, well, they would be pretty boring…and the LAST thing I would want to do on here is bore you! So instead I will just say that I did the challenge, it was quick, and I am happy with the results!

I also decluttered some stuff from my son’s room today

IMG_0535

It really does feel good to get rid of stuff! {p.s.one of the books was mine πŸ™‚ }

And now I will share with you a very delicious cookie recipe πŸ™‚

But first, I will set it up. I was a girl scout way back in my youth (any of my peeps out there??!!), and so I remember the cookie season fondly {and by fondly I mean harassing people at grocery stores, being signed up for every spare cookie booth post by my leader mom, and going door to door and selling to strangers…my peeps know what I’m talking ’bout πŸ˜‰ }.Β  But really, the best part of the whole process was access to all of the cookies! It really was a wonderful memory from my childhood (thanks mom!).

However, I recently purchased a few boxes of Tagalongs (aka Peanut Butter Patties, aka a million other names that are specific to county and/or region) from a girl scout I know.Β  And while they brought back good memories of sugary goodness, as a cookie they were rather…disappointing (and at $4.00 per box, I really think they should be awesome — anyone else with me??).

So, I decided to create my own Tagalongs using peanut butter, powdered sugar, chocolate chips, and Ritz Crackers. And they.are.so.good! My husband took some to work and they were enjoyed very quickly with requests for more! I have seen a lot of different recipes that have you make your own cookie portion, but using the Ritz is SO much easier (although not very healthy, I know :)).

So here goes, my super awesome recipe πŸ™‚ .

Homemade Tagalongs

Ingredients:

  • 64 Ritz Crackers (about half a regular box)
  • 2 – 12oz Bags Chocolate Chips. (I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, but I have read other recipes that have tried milk chocolate chips or white chocolate chips. I suppose you could do either, but I really like semi-sweet).
  • 1 cup Peanut Butter (give or take)
  • Powdered Sugar – to taste (about 1/2 -1 cup, depending on how sweet you want it)
IMG_0526

This is what it looks like to make them πŸ™‚

Directions:

  1. Mix Peanut Butter and Powdered Sugar. At first it will seem too dry, but keep mixing and it gets better. (You want it kinda stiff, rather than gooey).
  2. Make 32 peanut butter sandwiches with Ritz Crackers and PB mix.
  3. Place 1 – 12 oz bag of chocolate chips in a microwave safe glass bowl. Heat in microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring after each time (takes about 2 min total).
  4. Put sandwich flat in chocolate. Use fork to β€œspoon” chocolate on top of it so it is completely covered. Lift out with fork and tap just the fork on the side of the glass bowl to shake off excess chocolate. You want to dip them quickly, before the chocolate has time to harden. Don’t try to re-heat the chocolate to make it soft, because it just makes it dry, and then you will be sad :(. I suggest doing one 12oz bag at a time. That’s what I did.
  5. Place dipped cookie on cookie sheet covered with wax paper, repeat until done.
  6. You can leave cookies out to β€œdry”, or speed up the process by freezing them (while still on the cookie sheet).
  7. Try to only eat one at a time. Enjoy!

Each 12oz bag of chocolate chips is enough for about 16 cookies (depending on how chocolate-y you like your cookies). So this recipe is enough to make about 32 cookies total.

IMG_0531

Homemade Tagalongs – SO GOOD!

Give ’em a whirl — you won’t be sorry! {And, by the way, I will still support Girl Scouts through cookie sales, because I know they are a great organization — I was one once too, remember? πŸ™‚ .}

Happy Monday!

Has anyone else cooked up something fun lately?? How are you doing on the cleaning challenges?

