Project #1: Surface clean your living room and kitchen

This could not have come at a better time, since my kitchen counters and sink were not, shall we say, up to my standards of cleanliness. I enjoy a nice clean kitchen with clear counters, and that was not my reality on this Monday morning!

The Living Room is generally OK. I don’t leave much out because Benjamin is just too curious about EVERYTHING!! So nothing is safe…leading to truth in the saying: “If it’s important, don’t leave it in the living room!” (some of you know what I’m talking about πŸ˜‰ ).

So here are the BEFORE photos of my kitchen:

2 - Kitchen - Before

not too bad…but still in need of a cleaning

1 - Kitchen - Before

and here’s the long view

Β 
And here are the before photos of my living room:

LR - Before - 1

LR Before - 2

Since Crystal left it up to interpretation what “surface cleaning” is, here is what I did:

I set the timer for 15 minutes

Timer - 15 min

And started by vacuuming the Living Room (for which I had some “help”)

Little Helper

my little helper πŸ™‚

I picked up all the clothes, toys, etc. that did not belong in the living room and fluffed some couch cushions.

Then on to the kitchen. I got about 2 minutes into washing some dishes when Benjamin decided he needed a nap RIGHT NOW! So I put him down before I got back to business.

Nap time

so precious πŸ™‚

I put everything away that was out, wiped down the counters, finished the dishes, and took out the trash.

And then my kitchen looked like this:

Kitchen - After

MUCH better !

And my living room looked like this:

LR - After - 1

LR - After 2

And my living room rug looked like this

Clean Floor

{Am I the only one who loves to see vacuum cleaner marks on their freshly cleaned carpet??? It just makes me happy…not sure why πŸ™‚ }

And finally, the bonus project: find 7 things to get rid of.

Day 1 - Declutter

these are my 7-ish things to get rid of today

Disclaimer: It did take me longer than 15 minutes to clean up, between the “help” and the munchkin needing a nap. But it was all done within an hour of the start time, so I say yay!

Did you do any cleaning today??

