So I found a GREAT deal at the grocery store the other day – reduced to sell, Jeannie-O Spicy Italian Turkey Sausage – 99  cents for 1.22 lbs.

Now, discount meat speaks a special language to me — I LOVE finding deals like these! Especially when it’s Jeannie-O Turkey 🙂  So I set to work making good use of the four packs I purchased (there were more, but to be honest, I did not actually have a plan for it…so I didn’t want to get too greedy ;)).

Now I had to find a use for a meat that I did not typically buy. Hmmm. I could just use it in spaghetti sauce. But there was a lot of it and my husband is not in love with spaghetti (unlike me, who could eat it 3 times a week and pine for leftovers). <insert wistful, longing-for-spaghetti type sigh here>.

No, I could be more creative. So instead I turned to the ubiquitous casserole.

So without further ado, here is my recipe for how to use {some} spicy Italian sausage when you have A LOT of it 🙂

Creamy Sausage Casserole

Ingredients

~1 lb or so of Spicy Italian Sausage (I really DO love Jeannie-O brand!)

1/2 cup chopped spinach – Fresh or Frozen

1 lb pasta, cooked (I used rotelle, but you could use elbow or penne too)

1/2 cup Sour Cream (or cream of chicken soup, alfredo sauce – any white sauce will do)

1 cup Shredded Cheese, or to taste

{You could also try some spices if you like that kind of thing. Maybe Italian Seasoning or something. You could also substitute just about any of the ingredients to what you have on hand. That really is the beauty of the casserole, after all :).}

Instructions

  1. Cook Pasta, drain, etc. (you know, how you normally would :))
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  3. Mix pasta, sour cream (or other white sauce), sausage, and spinach together in a bowl until everything is mixed well and evenly “coated”.
  4. Pour everything into a glass 9×13 pan
  5. Sprinkle cheese over the top
  6. Bake uncovered for 30-35 minutes.

And that’s it!

This works really well to make earlier in the day (like during certain little peoples’ nap times) and put in the fridge until dinner time rolls around. Then all you have to do is pop it in the oven. Because, is it just me or do other people’s kids get KA-RAZY right around 4:30 when you start trying to prep something for dinner??? Even just making a quick pot of pasta can become a disaster!!

Prep early, prep often. That’s my motto — at least when it comes to casseroles 🙂

I forgot to get a photo before some of it got hijacked! But it was delicious!!

I forgot to get a photo before some of it got hijacked! But it was delicious!!

What about you? Do you like to experiment with creating new casseroles??

P.S. The remaining 4 lbs of sausage went cooked and into the freezer…for a future casserole…maybe 😉

